Stay Up To DateLatest News

Lawmakers removed from House floor for not wearing masks

April 5, 2022

The debate over wearing masks has returned to the Illinois House of Representatives.

The House voted to remove nine Republican lawmakers after they refused to wear masks on Thursday afternoon.

The Republicans in question refused to wear masks in violation of House rules. They cited various reasons, including wanting to take a stand in support of teachers and students not wearing masks.

“What about the kids being segregated in schools?” said Rep. Adam Niemerg, R-Dieterich, to loud boos from the Democratic side of the House.

The House voted to remove:

* Rep. Joe Sosnowski, R-Rockford

* Rep. Tony McCombie, R-Savanna

* Rep. Blaine Wilhour, R-Beecher City

* Rep. Brad Halbrook, R-Shelbyville

* Rep. Adam Niemerg, R-Dieterich

* Rep. David Welter, R-Morris

* Rep. David Friess, R-Red Bud

* Rep. Chris Miller, R-Oakland

* Rep. Andrew Chesney , R-Freeport

Rep. Steven Reick, R-Woodstock, was originally on the list of lawmakers to be removed, but was allowed to stay when he decided to wear a mask.

Read the rest on

A copy of our report filed with the State Board of Elections is (or will be) available on the Board’s official website ( or for purchase from the State Board of Elections, Springfield, Illinois.

Privacy Policy McCombie for Illinois respects your privacy and is committed to protecting your personal information. We collect your name, email address, and cell phone number when you provide it to us. We use this information to send you marketing messages, provide customer support, and improve our products and services. We will keep your information for as long as you are a customer of ours, or until you ask us to delete it.

We will protect your information by using industry-standard security measures. We will not share your information with third parties without your consent.

Paid for by McCombie for Illinois